Fastest Ball in IPL HistoryIPL fastest ball

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is renowned for its exhilarating cricket action, showcasing top players from around the globe in the fast-paced T20 format. Held annually, the IPL consistently makes history across various categories. One of the most exciting elements of T20 cricket is the performance of fast bowlers, who play pivotal roles in their teams, especially in fielding strategies.

Throughout the years, the IPL has seen numerous fast bowlers delivering lightning-fast deliveries that have left batsmen struggling and fans in awe. Today, we present a list of the 10 fastest deliveries in IPL history up to 2024. Discover the details of these incredible bowlers, their respective speeds, and much more.

Fastest Ball in IPL History: List of Fastest Bowlers in Cricket

1. Shaun Tait

Ball Speed: 157.71 kmph
Year: 2011

Match: Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils

Shaun Tait holds the record for the fastest delivery in IPL history, clocking in at 157.7 kmph. As the first bowler to achieve this feat, he played for the Rajasthan Royals from 2010 to 2013. During his tenure, Tait took 23 wickets in 21 matches, showcasing his exceptional bowling skills and contributing significantly to his team’s performance.

2. Gerald Coetzee

Ball Speed: 157.4 kmph
Year: 2024

Match: Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals

Gerald Coetzee recently surpassed Lockie Ferguson’s fast bowling record, now holding the position of the second-fastest bowler. Representing the Mumbai Indians, Coetzee has established himself as a talented and formidable bowler. His remarkable performance in the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup Trophy brought him significant attention. Coetzee is considered one of the top performers from the South African team.

3. Lockie Ferguson

Ball Speed: 157.3 kmph
Year: 2022

Match: Gujarat Titans vs Rajasthan Royals

Lockie Ferguson ranks as the third-fastest bowler in IPL history. During his tenure with the Sunrisers Hyderabad, he demonstrated his remarkable speed and skill. A New Zealand cricketer, Ferguson has represented his country internationally as a bowler. Despite not being particularly tall, he delivers exceptionally fast balls, thanks to his muscular build and smooth running technique. These attributes are key to his ability to consistently achieve high speeds.

4. Umran Malik

Ball Speed: 157 kmph
Year: 2022

Match: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals

Umran Malik holds the record for the fastest ball ever bowled in IPL history, making him the first Indian bowler to achieve this feat. Representing the Sunrisers Hyderabad, Malik’s ability to deliver such high-speed balls stems from his explosive energy and power. Despite not being particularly tall, his strength and dynamism enable him to reach these remarkable speeds.

5. Mayank Yadav

Ball Speed: 156.7 kmph
Year: 2024

Match: Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru

Mayank Yadav has become the second cricketer to bowl the fastest ball in cricket history. This remarkable achievement occurred during the match between the Lucknow Super Giants and the Royal Challengers Bengaluru. Representing the Lucknow Super Giants, Yadav showcased his exceptional ability to swing the ball with both pace and bounce, a skill that contributed to him setting this record.

6. Anrich Nortje

Ball Speed: 156.22 kmph
Year: 2020

Match: Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals

Anrich Nortje has etched his name in IPL history with one of the fastest deliveries, clocking in at 156.22 km/h. During this remarkable performance, he was playing for the Delhi Capitals. Hailing from South Africa, Nortje is also a prominent figure in international cricket. He joined the Delhi Capitals after the 2022 season, having previously played for the Kolkata Knight Riders.